Wednesday, October 28, 2009

The Civic Ceremony

I did say that this blog was not wholly dedicated to the flat. So, now that the flat is fully renovated, and we're kinda in the almost-final stages of furnishing (well, the big boys are done), there are other things to talk about.

Big & I are actually married "in the eyes of the law", albeit not so very much in the eyes of the in-law. As Big so very honestly (and un-romantically) puts it, we ROM-ed in May 2009 (2 weeks after Val) to get the flat. Make that to ensure we got our FULL entitled subsidies for the flat. As daddy said - make sure you get (from the government) all that you are entitled too.

Prepping for the civic ceremony, otherwise known as the ROM, was not an experience I'd care to re-live.

The date
1st, we had to consult the whole world for "auspicious dates", and naturally, everyone had their own little bit to say about this. We have two sets of parents, with 1 parent on either side with overly-inflated egos, who are frankly difficult to manage (and unlike difficult bosses you can't just quit on them). Consultation for the date actually delayed the entire process. Becos one set of parents (let's call them Set A) originally decided there was no need to consult a 3rd party for good dates. So this tricky business was left to the other side (Set B). Set B came back with some dates well within the timeline given to them (amazingly). And we were just about to move on to venues when - ta-dah! - surprise surprise - Set A suddenly decided they needed to consult too!

In the meantime, we were checking with some venues - some hotels, and one quiet quaint little cafe - on budget, set-up, menu what-have-you. We were also looking at the guest list. And then there was the issue of the JP.

Of cos, you can't confirm a venue without the date, or the confirmed number of guests, and of cos, you can't speak to the JP or register without a date either. Basically, nothing could move until we got the date.

Venue & guest list
The 2nd headache was the venue & guest list. It was relatively easy on my side. Big & I had agreed this would be a small private affair. So, my guest list included only immediate family, and one branch of the extended family whom I'm very close, and of cos, the gal gang. My parents were ok with that. Big wanted to invite one aunt whom he is very close to. This was veto-ed becos "you can't invite only one! How about the rest!" This caused major eye rolling in several departments. We figured it was a case of you-cannot-invite-your-side-of-the-family-if-you-don't-invite-mine. I think this was also when we realised it might be *our* wedding, but it was so out of our hands.

Now, the venue. We were about to speak with the cafe, when - ta-dah! - surprise surprise - Set A decided they had suggestions for venues. One of these was to have a garden party at his home (!!) and get his sister to cook (!!!!!) Big threw up his hands in despair at the amount of work that would have to go into getting the house ready for this. I plain refused to even consider it. Finally, for parental appeasement, we had to make a trip to another cafe (where we eventually held the ceremony) to try the food and recce the suitability of the place.

The JP
The issue with the JP, fortunately, did not give us as much headache as we thought it would. Out of courtesy, we had asked Set A if they had any preferences (read: friends, ex-colleagues etc) on whom we should invite to officiate. The indication was no. And thankfully, there was no last minute ta-dah for this. So, we went ahead to engage a friend of my parents. She is a sweet gentle very nice lady - Dr Esther Tan. Who mercifully kept the ceremony very short and to-the-point.

Now all these would have been bearable if I had not been running full-steam at work with an upcoming major Festival, and random media briefings thrown in for good measure. And if Big had not had HIS hands full at work too. In short, we were both stressed out in the office, and further frazzled by all the crap we had to deal with outside the office. And then there was Val's wedding to prepare for. With the logistics, and "boss" management we had to deal with for our own wedding, it just felt like yet another media event (that you wanted to get over and done with).

We were married the morning of the day after the Opening Ceremony of said Festival. At 11am, after 2 consecutive late nights of running media previews and opening shows. And without caffeine. With a very grouchy and exhausted bride. And a groom who nearly had a panic attack on that morning becos his mother insisted on a change of (his) attire at the last minute.

I am still amazed we actually made it through. But all the fuss and parental management doesn't bode well for the customary wedding ceremony and dinner next April. I already hear another series of ta-dahs!

p/s - Mothers expressed shock that the bride hadn't 1) gone for manicure/facial/whatever 2) done her hair at the salon 3) gone shopping for a nice new white dress. Um, the bride is just glad she actually made it there in one piece, sane, and with enough presence of mind to say the correct thing at the correct moment.

Monday, October 26, 2009

The Big Ones

The bed
Beth, you will be glad to know that we managed to get the bed frame with the hidden compartments in the head-board!

We went back to Nova on Fri night, and wrangled almost a 20% discount out of the salesman, and got the bed frame at $850 after GST down from the original $999. It was an amusing experience with the salesman trotting to & fro to check with his boss. He had disclaimer for both times he offered discounts - "You must give me $20 tip!". This increased to a $30 tip when he delivered the final discounted price.

Anyway, the bed frame will arrive in Nov, after Big gets back from pressing the generator button somewhere in the forrested North. We need to call Serta to arrange for mattress delivery

The Big Ones
This was a relatively fruitful weekend as well becos we also got the big ones - fridge, washing machine & baking oven - in under 1 hour! We'd been comparing prices from Harvey Norman to Courts to Mega at Katong. For some reason, Big undertook the fridges, and somehow the washing machines came under my charge. What do I know about the various washing machine functions other than just using them???

On Sat we went to the famous Goh Ah Bee - all residents in the Hougang, Serangoon, Potong Pasir areas should be very familiar with this little jewel - and within 1/2 hour bought the Cuizino baking oven, Toshiba 7kg washing machine and Hitachi "anti-mould gasket" fridge - all for about $1.3K. Very pleased with ourselves.

Big also managed to re-install the TV bracket in the master bedroom, and with some minimal help from me, put up the TV.

All the way home, and the next day too, he was in jitters about whether the TV was still being held up or is presently lying face down on the floor...

The miscellaneous items
We trawled Ikea for maybe 3 hours on Sun; actually I haven't figured out exactly what we were looking for (other than their fabulous coffee) since Big said we had busted our budget (he blamed my Silgranite sink and some other stuff), and I had to resist getting my Billy bookcase and armchair and extra chairs for dining. We also got a box of six sets of utensils. Had to resist the plates...And how come Ikea doesn't sell those wonderful colourful plastic cups any more?! *waaail*

And then we went to Giant, where we picked up a standing fan for the living room (yes, there is NO aircon in the living), and a microwave. Then, when we got to my home, my mum practically shoved the toaster oven into our arms. She got it free with her fridge/washing machine earlier this year, and it seemed she couldn't wait to get rid of it so she could use the space for more shoes...

Once the big items are in, we would kinda ready to stay over on weekends. We just need to 1) furnish the two small rooms 2) get shoe cabinet 3) fill the kitchen cupboards 4) get bed linen 5) get curtains...

Monday, October 19, 2009

Beds, beds, beds

An ex-colleague of mine who got married some 4-5 years ago gave her husband relatively free rein in decorating their Sengkang home. But she had one request - a four poster bed. After she told us, she had to endure some weeks of merciless teasing about all the interesting possibilities a four poster bed could be used for. A four poster bed is really quite a sight in a HDB flat in Singapore. But, I suppose, it makes your home feel just that little bit more like a castle.

Much as I enjoy reading fantasy, and would really like a dragon in the moat, or a moat monster, as a pet (and to keep out unwelcomed visitors), I don't really want my home to look like a castle. I like a simple clean look. Especially for the bed.

Big & I spent Sunday afternoon trawling Paya Lebar for a suitable bed. We already knew that we want a bed with some storage space. Val and Mel have one that pops open (like Dracula's coffin), to reveal storage space below the bed. But considering my size and my propensity to accidentally injure myself, that wasn't very ideal for us. I would probably end up getting trapped in there myself. So, we went in search for a bed with drawers instead. And it had to be in dark wood to match the room.

Beds with drawers are so not "in" nowadays. In any decent furniture showroom, you would find maybe 1 out 5 beds with drawers. And the drawers tend to be rather shallow too. For those with drawers, there were a lot of other issues to tackle - the height, the size of the bedframe itself, and colour and design of the headboard. And I can tell you those headboards come in all kinds of strange designs! There were padded ones and non-padded ones with wooden slates (NO way!). My favourite was the one with the padded headboard with a little ledge on the top (good potential for alarm clocks - which would probably fall on someone's head after being hit in the morning), and which opened to reveal - voila - two compartments! The most memorable was a padded one in dark wood whose design looked like a chocolate bar - seriously - which was vetoed immediately.

And then we came across this shop which sold metal (probably brass) bedframes. They were really BOOMZ. Do people actually sleep in those things?!

By 5pm, only after 2 hours of looking at beds, beds and more beds, punctuated with chests of drawers and shoe cabinets, I called for a coffee break. As always, they were all starting to look the same. And I was ready to say we should just slap the damn mattress on the floor and do with the stupid bedframe.

By dinner at 9pm, we had narrowed down the choice to 2 beds. Both were dark wood, and had drawers at the front. One was the bed with secret compartments in its headboard. The other had a padded headboard with a simple design.

Big went down to do some measurements today. So, if we get a good deal on the one with secret hiding compartments, we'd probably get it.

Wednesday, October 14, 2009

The Pumpkin Patch - 13 Oct 2009

Big claimed his Deepavali off-in-lieu yesterday as he needed to run some errands. He also managed to get the tiered dual towel rack, the vanity mirror, and the 3M mini-shelf for the toilet. The mini-shelf was his idea - so that we (and visitors) have somewhere to put our mobile phones/novels etc when we go potty.
Anyway, Big also very efficiently assembled the extendable dining table, and the couch yesterday afternoon. Itz so good to have someone handy around the house. I remember the lengthy and painful process of helping my dad assemble his bookshelf...


This is how the flat looks like now:

Living room with dining in background


Bathroom & toilet - I did say bright and cheery...


Dining - extendable dining table to accomodate the rest of the world. Probably going to get pictures/mirror/plants/display shelves for the walls, so it still looks a little bare now.





























































Monday, October 12, 2009

The Bounce Test

Itz always more fun and interesting to shop for furniture (unless you're Mel, and actually enjoy shopping for taps).

But with strict instructions from Paul NOT to shop for furniture while the reno was on-going, we had to restrict ourselves to focusing on toilet bowls, sinks and taps.


Bouncing on the Mattress


Mid-way through the reno - we had already gotten the stove/hood/toilet fixings - we actually got our mattress. The usual practice, as far as I know, sometimes is to buy the mattress and get a "free" bedframe. Or to custom build the bedframe and buy the mattress to fit it. In our case, we got our mattress 1st becos there was a good discount on it. We got a queen-sized Serta for $999, FYI. Itz "only" a queen becos there isn't going to be very much space in the room if we put in a king. We did get questioned on why a queen. Well, itz for practical reasons. And anyway, we fit ok on a queen.


I like my mattress a little firmer than usual becos I have back problems. Big likes them a little bouncier and not too firm. So we settled on the Serta becos it is semi-firm, and has a bouncy top layer. Quite cool really.


Trying out mattresses in public is a little disconcerting. I felt really odd lying down to try the various mattresses. Especially becos they were on display right next to the escalator (and next to the Talking Hall) in Takashimaya, where there is a LOT of human traffic. Not an experience I'd like to repeat...


The couch from Ikea


Ok I confess. We were about maybe 55-60% decided on a couch way before reno even started. Itz not leather, and itz not fancy. And itz from Ikea.


Our first feedback on the Ikea couch went like this - "A COUCH from IKEA?!" *incredulous look*


Anyway, yesterday we went to Ikea to decide if we wanted the couch, and also what colour. The decision on WHICH couch to get was made quite fast - Karlstad 3 -seater (3-seater refers to Swedish butts; it can seat 4 Asians of average build). The stalling factor was what colour and what fabric for the covers. We initially had our eye on the red-and-white striped one. Beautiful vibrant piece. But our wall is buttercream, and the the orange dining walls are nearby - so a red-and-white striped couch would be, to quote Big, really quite BOOMZ. Our other options were a dark brown, off-white (which was a big no-no for me), and a dark grey.



The dark brown would have been better. But Big, after trying out the material for about 20 min, decided he would rather go with the grey although itz not the best colour. By the way, that is NOT the couch we bought. The material that Big was testing out was on the cushion...



So, yes, the couch is from Ikea. It has dark grey fabric covers, very comfy big cushions, and is perfect for flopping on lazy afternoons - as Ikea puts it - made for staying put. You can actually sleep on it without 1) sliding/rolling off 2) getting a stiff neck or back. The only problems are the fabric covers - any major spillage and we'll need to dry-clean it, and Spooky chewing on it. Becos the silly cat really loves fabric.

It'll be in tomorrow!!!!


The dining table

Yesterday was a very fruitful afternoon at Ikea. We got the couch, we got the lampshades and 2 standing lamps for the living room. AND we got the dining table & chairs.

We didn't receive any *incredulous look(s)* over the dining table being from Ikea, but then again, we didn't mention this to anyone.

For us, practicality is key. Brands don't really bother us, except if itz electronics or machines. Our dining area isn't very big, but we need to cater for Big's very big (yeah yeah haha) family, for entertaining the Ecosystem (5 gals, 5 significant others, 2 babies and 1 dog), and for my extended family (immediate family 3 + 3 cousins + 1 aunt + 2 spouses + 4 fast-growing kids = too many people in a 3-room flat), so the best we could do was get an extendable table. Which we found in - you guessed it - Ikea. We did look at other furniture places, but the extendable tables available tend to be rather big (without the extension). Ours sits four comfortably without extending.

And itz coming tomorrow too!!!

Whee hee hee woo hooo!

Handing Over

With a firm handshake, a flourish of cheques & invoices, and 8 dual-sided keys for the wrought iron main gate (apparently itz $10 to duplicate 1 key), Paul handed the flat over to us last Sat.

It was most satisfying.

Big had been at the flat since 12 noon Sat, becos the lighting delivery guy had moved the delivery of a replacement glass cover to an earlier timing. And then Paul did the same. While I was stuck waiting for the damn bus to get to the flat, Big was being super efficient. He did a thorough check of the flat, even discovering the "magic hole" near the kitchen sink where the water is supposed to drain out when we wash the floor. He also removed the existing door lock for the wooden front door, and got a new one after much searching, AND a new padlock for the gate.

The flat is actually fit to move into right now. Itz just missing furniture... the reno was a good experience, thanks to Paul. Just as an aside - Paul was very disturbed over our lack of a proper lamp for the dining becos we hadn't gotten the lampshade yet, and the only thing that has been hanging there since the lights went up is a bare bulb. He commented on it a couple of times on Sat - I had to fight from laughing.

He's going to bring his electrician and plumber down this Sat to finish up some bits of work. And then, we're well and throughly done with the reno.

Paul did a good job.

Wednesday, October 7, 2009

The Viewing

It was Big's birthday yesterday - Happy Birthday Big Boy!

So, we had dinner with his family (there are 4 kids including Big) at the Marine Parade branch of Botak Jones. We had their Massive Sunrise burger which is 220gms of beef patty, FOUR Canadian bacon rashers (wonderful), FOUR slices of cheese, and TWO sunny side-ups - we love it.

Anyway, Big wanted to drop off the shower tap at the flat so we ALL (8 of us, 2 significant others were MIA), trooped over.

The sliding doors were in, the toilet/bathroom lights had been wired correctly, and the countertop for the kitchen was in. It looks almost ready to move in to!

This is the first time his entire family has seen the flat. His mum saw it in itz original state when we first got it.

Couple of comments here from The Viewing:

"Sure not enough space." (with ref to display cabinet in living room - ah duh...)

"Why is there an aircon in the small room (i.e *MY* room), and not in the hall???" (um, becos the "small room" is supposed to double up as a kid's bedroom in future? unless you want the kid to sleep in the hall...)

"Kitchen very big!" (Thank You, Ele. It isn't really, but I suppose, it is bigger than the one in your River Valley condo...)

"How big is it?"(76 sqm, FYI pls - bigger than the corridor units)

"Is the aircon 1 HP? What? You don't know??? I think probaby not lah. HDB don't allow too powerful."(HP apparently stands for horsepower; I had no idea it can be used to refer to aircon power. I thought it only referred to car engines.)

We welcome all comments. Just, pls, make constructive ones... And deliver them with some sincerity, and not becos you feel you have to say something stupid.

SIGH

Monday, October 5, 2009

This thing about walk-in wardrobes

The cupboards are up in the flat! The ones in the bedroom, the ones in the kitchen, and the ginormous (Big doesn't think itz huge, but I do) display cabinet in the living.

I personally really like the ones in the kitchen - I think the dark wood-grain (the catalogue says itz walnut) laminate really sets off the tiles and walls. Big says it looks very "show-flat". But then again Big is also the one who keeps on and on about how *he* chose the colours. Being "Creative Director" in his company kinda equates having to have some standard for the flat so as to maintain semblance of *his* sense of aesthetics... I say - yeah whatever.

Anyway, the cupboards in the bedroom are set in an L - I'm still not sure how much stuff we have to fill them, but I think, between my big plush, and his stuff that presently fill 2 cupboards in his room, we should be able to find a space for most things. I really don't have that many clothes or bags...

Which is why I'm amused at the number of "walk-in wardrobe" comments we've gotten since the start of the reno. Including from Paul, who did an on-the-spot re-enactment of the beer ad - issit Carlsberg or Heineken - for me on Sat.

I mean, yeah I know, itz every girl's (and some guys' too) dream to own a walk-in wardrobe, complete with cushy seats, throw rugs and wall-to-wall mirrors, almost like a boudoir. Very pretty and all. But, for me, the accomodation of a walk-in closet in my house simply means that we have enough space to spare. Itz not a necessity. Itz a bloody luxury.

I don't care if itz the "in" thing nowadays (but then again, I have never aspired to be "in" all the time), or that 2 out of 3 friends with new homes have it (or some semblance of it). Not to mention, I probably wouldn't make much use of it, even if I had one. I do spend only about 15 min getting dressed (and that includes time taken to pick clothes, and look at self in mirror) and I don't have that many clothes to fill a room... But then again, I have never been the vain one in the family.

So, here's in reply to all those comments about a walk-in wardrobe - no we don't have one, no we don't intend to have one, and no I don't think we'll ever have one. I'd rather have wall-to-wall bookshelves. And Big would rather have a toy museum.